Book Jacket Design -brief

November 10, 2009

To kick off the new unit, we were given an assignment straight away – to redesign a book jacket using type only.

I immediately started thinking of a book I was going to choose, and it turns out the choice was quite easy. The last book I read was ‘The Raw Shark Texts’ by Steven Hall. The novel had a clever use of imagery made out of type, so it’s a perfect choice! And I just found out today that the AIB graduate Simon Beaufoy has recently completed a Raw Shark Texts screenplay for the film adaptation. What a coincidence!

An example of the use of type in the novel

Now I just need to get my hands on a copy of the book!

 

Update:
I visited both the school library and the one in town centre, but neither of them have the book. I really wanted to choose this book!

 

A book jacket design for the book by Jesse Walker. Looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

