Rapunzel

November 28, 2011

Rapunzel from Tangled:

This is a continuation of my previous attempts to envision Disney characters in “real life”.


192 Responses to “Rapunzel”

  1. Destiny Says:

    You have done it again! This is perfect! Wonderful work!

  2. Rodney & Angela Says:

    Love it. Always looking forward to these.

  3. Isa Says:

    I am so glad you find the time for these, and I know I’m not the only one. Amazing as always! :)

  4. Audra Says:

    Thank you!!!!!

  5. NInni Says:

    You got her spirit!! <3

  6. Ana Clara Says:

    Outstanding… Makes me want to watch the movie again!! Thanks for sharing your art with us :)

  7. Rachelle Says:

    Very cute! I love this movie, so thank you. :)

  8. Jamie Says:

    Wow, that’s really good. It’s funny; she looks familiar. You know, I would really love it if you did Princess Kida from Atlantis, or Alice from Alice in Wonderland.

  9. Gina Says:

    Great Picture!!! she reminds me of Amanda Seyfried. I hope you consider doing Alice from Alice in Wonderland

  10. Evie Says:

    Thats one of my favourites so far! And I think she almost looks like Amanda Seyfried.

  11. Jessica Lindamood Says:

    Perfection! Absolutely dazzling! I love her!

    May I ask who is next?

  12. HINA Says:

    very very cute!!!!!!!
    Thank you(*>∀<)b!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I want to see to short hair version!
    An impudent suggestion.I'm very sorry.

  13. Morgan Says:

    You should definitely do Alice next!
    Please, please, please!

    x

  14. Mallory Says:

    Incredible job! You know, looks lots like Dakota Fanning.

  15. Devin Says:

    She makes me think of a cross between Amanda Seyfried and AJ Michalka.

  16. Kristy Says:

    She is adorable! I recognize her from the movie, but she could live down the street from me! Very realistic.
    Love your work, been following you for about a month and it’s great stuff, both the disney girls and your other design work. Keep it up! :)

  17. Vicki Fourie Says:

    This is so pretty! I love it!!

  18. Catherine Says:

    OMG I LOOOOVE HER!! She’s Amazing! and you’ve managed to capture her personality perfectly :D Great job!

  19. Scott Says:

    That’s a lot of hair……
    Thanks for this one! :D

  20. Maria Says:

    Yes! She kinda does look like Dakota. But wow, this has got to be my favorite, head to head with jasmine at the very least. But it’s so cute! I love it. Great job!!!

  21. Caio Monteiro Says:

    Perfect. You is really very good artist!

    the disneys princess end now…

    make the jane of tarzan now please!

  22. MP Says:

    The color of her face seems a little off from the rest of her body?

  23. Nic Says:

    These are very nice photo manipulations.

    Since they are photo manipulations it’d be nice, considering some of them are clearly famous actresses/women you are using, if you linked to some of your source work.

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Thank you! The thing is that I never just use one source or image, but combine elements from multiple images. The original references do get lost in the process, and you can’t really refer back to the sources once finished.

  24. Deseanna Says:

    I love this ^_^

  25. Chloe Says:

    On tumblr I always look back at your princess post to look for updates, and out of all the princesses you have done so far, I think this is by far my favorite! Part of it might be because I watch the movie a few days ago xD. Your work is so beautiful!!

  26. Rach Says:

    When you run out of ideas for disney princesses, maybe you could try to make the princes/male characters, and also the villans? Start with Aladdin or Eugene (from Rapunzel) :D

  27. Yassmin Says:

    AMAZING! she looks like Amanda Seyfried! just some suggestions, you could do the non-disney princesses like Anastasia, Odette, and Thumbelina if you like! I’d love to see those :)

  28. Em Says:

    Please continue to make these they are so awesome. And there are still so many left that you can do! Please continue with this series!!! :D

  29. Jean Says:

    Please make FLYNN RIDER!! :D

  30. Maria Says:

    OH! She is adorable! Better then ever expected!

  31. Heather Says:

    OK! Very cute and playful. Now Tinkerbell… Ready? Set? GO!

  32. Hazelnut Says:

    wow! She looks a LOT like the actress AnnaSophia Robb. Very Pretty! Since this is a photo manipulation? May I know who’s picture did you use in this? She really reminds me of AnnaSophia… :)

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Thanks. I used a bunch of different people as references, including AnnaSophia, Amanda Seyfried, Gemma Ward, Michelle Trachtenberg, Dakota Fanning, Ashley Olsen, as well as non-celebrities.

  33. TheBlackTwig Says:

    Yay! Here she comes. I love Rapunzel and your interpretation fits perfectly with how I imagined her. :)

  34. Ishtah Says:

    it looks like you took a picture of amada seyfried and changed on photoshop the texture of the picture and the outfit…..it looks nothing more than a little manipulation from one of many amanda seyfrieds pix that she has online….i just looked and there are a chunk of pictures with the same exact expressions from her pictures

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Fair enough, but that’s not what I’ve done here, though. I do realize that with the technique I am using it can be hard to appreciate the effort that goes into this.

      • Ishtah Says:

        i know how to photoshop manipulate as well….i have done it for 5 years….i took classes for it….why not make ur own not using another image of course as to make something realistic you need to look at real eyes, lips, etc. but why not go a different route….they are really good don’t get me wrong but some of them look like you made them and others look copy and paste

  35. JESSICA Says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE
    have you ever thought of doing the princes?

  36. kiriniri Says:

    Dakota Fanning!

  37. Laura Says:

    This is amazing!

    The only Disney princess left I can think of is Princess Eilonwy from The Black Cauldron.

  38. Johanna Says:

    Vet inte om du förstår svenska men; OH! va fina bilder! Gör mer real-life-disney!!
    / wrote in swedish above, i love your real-life-disney pictures! Make more of em!

  39. Dominique Says:

    This is amazing, as are all of your other disney works! My favorite is Belle, but that is probably just because she has always been my favorite princess. I’d love to see Tinkerbell and Wendy from Peter Pan. Plus, Alice (in Wonderland) would be great too!

  40. Sara Says:

    Please do Alice in Wonderland and Tinkerbell!!!!! :) <3 LOVE your work!!!

  41. Jane Says:

    Please do Jane from Tarzan :) my name’s Jane too btw :p

  42. brianna Says:

    I love this serious! I can’t wait for more to come out! I hope you do Kida from “The Lost City of Atlantis”. You are so talented can’t wait for more!

  43. Rosalinda Says:

    Gorgeous! I love all of your pics. Are you ever going to do a Disney guy like Aladdin or Tarzan or Peter Pan, or any more villains? Just wondering ’cause you’re going to run out of Disney heroines soon. ;)

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Thank you! But I don’t think I will be doing the guys. I have been thinking of doing more villains, but at the moment I just can’t find the time. But we will see!

  44. Annie Says:

    These pictures are beautiful :) Can you please draw Belle from the Beauty and the Beast? She is my absolute favorite :)

  45. Annie Says:

    oh, I thought Meg was the first, because there were many pictures of different topics below her image… I found Belle, she is great :)

  46. Ally Says:

    Amanda Seyfried.

  47. Yzabelle Says:

    I love all your works and I’m an instant fan! I even blogged about your works :) I bet if you created real life portraits of Disney Princes like Aladdin, Prince Eric and Flynn Rider, they’d look handsome for sure! Good job and keep it up!

  48. maryam Says:

    wonderful is very real-life

  49. maryam Says:

    wonderfullllllllllllllllllllll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  50. michiko Says:

    she looks soooooooo awesome! one of the best! great work, you are super talented! : )

  51. Katie Sykes Says:

    I love these… It would be cool to see princes as well! And maybe tinkerbell and wendy, And yes I was also thinking your Rapunzel looks like you used amanda seyfried as the inspiration, but I can tell its not a photo of her.. but if rapunzel was real.. ya this would be her!! Lol

  52. Anita Says:

    I love Your work.
    Your art complite my childhood.
    Perfect.

  53. Gabrielle Says:

    Where’s MALEFICENT?

  54. Kelly Says:

    You really should do an Anastasia realistic. I would DIE! and she’s SO beautiful!

  55. Kelly Says:

    Oh, and all of these are absolutely AMAZING! I show everyone them and everyone is in awe over how amazing and realistic they all look. BRAVO!

  56. Kassandra Says:

    Absolutely fantastic! It’s so amazing seeing them as real women! You have an amazing talent.

  57. Claire Says:

    Looks like a cartoon version of Amanda Seyfried

  58. Tasja Says:

    Wow! You are so talented!
    I just had to stop by your blog and say that your envisions are stunning :)

    I would just love to see with which picture you started.. it is a photo manipulation right?

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Thank you very much! It’s not just photo manipulation, but a combination of different techniques, so I don’t start with one particular photo. I combine elements from various photos and paint digitally as well.

  59. dreamynaria Says:

    You know there is another Disney princess that will come out soon called Merida!!!

  60. Sayywhat092 Says:

    These are so awesome! :DD You are amazing! Can you do Princess Kida from Atlantis? That would be awesome!

  61. Adriana Says:

    Incredible!!!! Please keep this up!!

  62. Mona Says:

    This is so beautiful. Rapunzel come to life! You should do the Disney Princes too, ooh, or the villans!

  63. Sarah Says:

    Woah!! Did you take real people and make them look like the princesses?? Thay’re amazing!! :D

  64. cole Says:

    Your Disney pictures are very good. I’d love to know your inspiration for Rapunzel. She looks exactly like my 16 year old daughter. The resemblance is uncanny.

  65. Rosie Says:

    I absolutely love your Disney Princesses images. They’re stunning. Please continue doing these characters who mean so much to so many people! I’d love to see Wendy (Peter Pan), or Jane (Tarzan). Or have you thought about doing non-disney animated characters? Like Anastasia? I think she’d be interesting to do. Also, have you thought of selling prints? I personally would love to own the collection and display them in my home. And they’d make fantastic presents to children and adults alike! Anyway, keep it up. I always check back to see if you’ve added another!

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Thanks! I don’t think I will be doing non-disney characters for now. And unfortunately I am not selling prints of these at the moment since I am afraid that there might a copyright issue with the Disney brand.

  66. Amel Anniza Says:

    i’m guessing that the face on this image is taken from amanda seyfried’s, isn’t it?

  67. Mimi Says:

    She looks so much like Amanda Seyfried .Did you use her picture?

    Great work.Keep it up.

  68. Stacey Says:

    Love it :) looks just like Amanda Seyfried! i thought for sure that who played her voice cuz the cartoon looked so much like her!

  69. Anonymous Says:

    I think it looks like you pasted a picture of Amanda Seyfried’s face onto a Rapunel body.

  70. rose Says:

    all your “real-life” disney princesses works are AMAZING! I’m looking forward to see more of it.. =)

  71. kuciwalker Says:

    Please do Eilonwy!

  72. Abigail Says:

    My favorite! Just found you but totally love. (I’ve never actually tried digital art but I always like how it looks.)

  73. stephanie Says:

    Her eyes! you soo got her!

  74. Victoria Vanguard Says:

    She’s so pretty! You’ve done a great job, and she looks a tad bit like Amanda Seyfried! Cool! :D

  75. BestTKD Says:

    Very nice! Exactly how I would imagine her in real life. Looks a lot like Anna Sophia-Robb.
    I’d love to see Kairi from Disney-SquareEnix’s Kingdom Hearts. :)

  76. lynnie winnie Says:

    Yay! Rapunzel!!! :D This makes me so very happy!

    If you ever get the chance, will you do Alice from Alice in Wonderland? I think it would be stunning to see her as well, although she’s not a Disney Princess. You could draw her with the Cheshire cat. :D

  77. EpicTurtle57 Says:

    These are all just soo amazing and compeltey COOL! i love them. your an inspiration to me nd probably to alot of other ppl as well=)

  78. Leah Says:

    I just found your works because of yahoo and I have to say it’s amazing!!! Just wondering are you going to be doing non disney princess, but still disney characters like Alice… And if you complete the disney project would you move onto non disney stars like Anastasia? (i feel like you’d do an amazing job with her!!) Once again amazing job :)

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Thank you! I don’t think I will be moving to non disney characters, since I am struggling to find time for these as it is. But I will try to find time for some other Disney characters…

  79. Malanb Says:

    reminds me a bit of Dakota Fanning. Great job!


  80. Would love to see Tinkerbell or Alice (In Wonderland). I love your work. Amanda Seyfried would make a good Rapunzel!

  81. Justine Says:

    Your work is just perfect… But where is Anastasia ?
    Greetings from France.

  82. Jennifer Says:

    She looks wonderful! I don’t think that her face or head shape is quite right though. Or maybe her head’s skin tone doesn’t quite match. I don’t know, something is just off there.

    However, the rest of her looks absolutely amazing! You’ve done a wonderful job!


  83. Hello
    Your work was noted in the local news of my country

    http://rbb.cl/1zzi

  84. Allison Says:

    I think this is your best blonde so far! Honestly, I think she looks the most ‘American’ of all your blonde princesses. But also she looks the most ‘Real-life’ like a beautiful person you’d see on the street, not just a model. I do like the sassy brunettes, too. Great great job on your work. Thanks!

  85. Ashado Says:

    All of your work is so awesome! Your work is very lifelike and well done.

    Would love to see some Disney animals tho, haha!

    Cheers!


  86. I so love your fairytale illustrations in real life. Here is my series of the fairytale girls all dressed up for today. Check them out. If you click on the thumbnail you can see them larger.
    http://dctdesigns.com/2011/12/28/fairytale-fashions/


  87. Wow… just awesome. Love the whole Disney princess thing you are doing. YOU SHOULD DO THE GUYS! I wonder how hot Flynn Ryder would look realistically! XD

    Keep it coming!!

  88. Leah Says:

    I’m so glad you have been continuing this!!!! Every one is amazing! Is Rapunzel the last or will you do some more? I have this obsession with Tinkerbell and would love to see what she would be like in real life! It also would be cool to see the rest of the fairies from Pixie Hollow too, even though they are new to Disney. (Rosetta, Iridessa, Silvermist, Vidia, and Fawn)

    Again, beautiful work!!!!!

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Thank you! I am not familiar with the other fairies, so I don’t think I will be branching out to those. But I will definitely try to find time for some new Disney females in the future!

  89. Sheryl Exstrom Says:

    Absolutely beautiful series. I would love to see Tinkerbell done. I can only imagine what you would do!

  90. Lauren B. Says:

    I absolutely ADORE your Disney girls! They are all so well done and true to the characters.
    I was wondering if you could maybe film what you do to make these? Not necessarily a tutorial, but more like a “watch the princess come to life” video. You know, cut some things out and speed up the video so it’s not forever long, because I know these pictures have got to take a long time to make. Anyway, I’d be really interested in seeing the process that goes into creating such amazing works! I’m so amazed by what you do!

  91. Kelly Says:

    I love all of these photo manips you’ve done so much! You’re incredibly talented!

  92. Madi Says:

    These look great! How about Sleeping Beauty next! :)

  93. Rei Says:

    Is that dakota fanning? ew, way to ruin such an awesome character! your work is great and its awesome what you are doing, just wish for this “real life” rapunzel you had chosen a different female photo, looking like dakota just ruins it :(

  94. Tal Says:

    how did u do that?? so awesome..


  95. Amazing work :)
    I’d love to see Jane from Tarzan, keep her in mind and do her when you have the time! :)

  96. Bethany Says:

    You should make Alice from Alice in Wonderland as well as Tinker Bell from Peter Pan. :) I love these!!!

  97. 21Hufflepuff Says:

    Can you please do tinker bell??? Thx! amazing work! very talented!!! love it!!

  98. Siv Says:

    Yes, it reminds me of Dakota Fanning; lovely picture :D

  99. Wendayy99 Says:

    She looks familiar.

  100. Delaney Says:

    If you don’t mind, will you send me the start pictures you used? starfruitcoconutheadgal@gmail.com
    Thanks! :) I love your work!

  101. Tim Dz. Says:

    GREAT JOB!!!! Right on the money with this Treasure!!!!
    Dead On Likeness! – Thank you for sharing!!!!!!!!!

  102. Brit Says:

    I SO WANT TO BUY THIS! AMAZING WORK!

  103. jenn Says:

    WOW! I would love to see more villans, Like Mother Gothel, and Gaston. :)

  104. Dylenia Says:

    She looks a bit like Amanda Seyfried =) but beautiful art nonetheless. All of them. I know you have gotten many request and still recieving them but if it is not too much to ask I would like to suggest Princess Anastasia, I am well aware she is not a disney princess but I feel like she should be hahaha so if you could create her real life picture I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you. And keep creating masterpieces.


  105. So cute! Amazing :) I love all the Disney characters, great work. You’ve got talent.

  106. Becca Says:

    She looks like Emma Stone! Amazing work :)

  107. chipung Says:

    cool !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i like this !!!!

  108. Xyo Says:

    You’ve done a such wonderful work.
    I love it !
    And I blogged it !
    http://xyoweb.com/12978-real-life-disney-characters

  109. klaudi Says:

    she looks like a mix of amanda seyfried/dakota fanning


  110. Rapunzel is one of my favorites! Your work is incredible.

  111. Lolii Says:

    From France: So wonderful!

  112. Molly Says:

    This is amazing! They all are!
    I’ve got a request… will you do Melody (from Little Mermaid 2)? I’d love to see that.
    Also, have you considered doing the princes?

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Thank you! I don’t think I have seen any of the sequels, though. I have considered doing the princes, but it seems like I have decided against it. Unfortunately, I haven’t got enough time and motivation for those.

  113. Karoline Says:

    Wow! AMAZING! You used the eyes of Anne Sophia Rob right? She is really a rapunzel “look-alike.” Totally LOVE it :)

  114. Katelyn Says:

    Great work…it is so amazing looking at all of your pictures. I have some suggestions you could try if you ever had a a chance, wendy from peter pan or a new disney character meredith from the new disney movie brave!

  115. AnnaSuki Says:

    Dakota Fanning and Evanna Lynch (played Luna Lovegood in Harry Potter series)


  116. Looks EXACTLY like Amanda Seyfried!
    Loove all your Disney princesses!

  117. Alice Says:

    Amazing !!
    She’s beautiful !

  118. Elanor Hargrove Says:

    Jirka, your work is simply amazing. I am a bit curious, have you or will you do one for Eilonwy? Frankly, I think she’s a lovely character, and one often forgotten about. Anyway, you’re very talented, and I find your work incredible :)

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Thank you! Unfortunately I am not familiar with the character myself…

      • Elanor Hargrove Says:

        That’s completely okay! Not many people have! She’s the secondary protagonist of Disney’s 1962 film, The Black Cauldron. It’s based of a series of books, The Chronicles of Prydain, about Welsh mythology. I do recommend you watch it, if ever you have time :) Again, I love your artwork!

  119. Meya Says:

    She looks like Amanda Seyfried :3

  120. ZombiePillow Says:

    I was wondering if you’d managed to see if you could make any prints at all? I would love to have one :) And, as everyone has said, these are amazing! Makes me believe the fairytales are real!

  121. Joelle Says:

    How do you do these??? Do you start with a photo of someone who looks like them?

    • jirkavinse Says:

      It’s all digital and a combination of various techniques – photo compositing, manipulation and digital painting. I do reference photos, but I do not just start with one photo, but combine elements from a lot of different photos.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,565 other followers

