Snow White

November 4, 2011

I know quite a few of you have been waiting for this… So without futher ado, here is my take on Snow White!

This is a continuation of my previous attempts to envision Disney characters in “real life”.

142 Responses to “Snow White”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Beautiful! Thanks so much for sharing your talent with us :-)

  2. Amanda Says:

    omg, it’s amazing! :D

  3. Ella Says:

    This is so cool! I wait for these pictures and I come on your blog every day, so I was super excited to see Snow White! She’s just the right mix of naive, young and sweet :) Who’s next? I can’t wait to see your interpretation of Cinderella!!!!! Thank you so much ;)

  4. Caio Monteiro Says:

    Very Beatiful! realy good! now, make the cinderela please!

  5. Kira Says:

    You sir, are so amazing! Now im very curious about who you are and what you want to do after school! This is awesome to me because I am such a Disney fan. Keep up the great work!

  6. Destiny Says:

    Wow this is stunning! Your so amazing! I know work like this can’t be easy, but I really co-sign the Cinderella idea! I hope you have time!

  7. Jaiiiiii Says:

    i love your work, is Rapunzel next on the list?

  8. Liz Says:

    This one and Ariel are my fav!!! I hope you do Repunzel! Want to see what you do with her hair :D

    Great work!!! ;)

  9. James Says:

    I actually imagined Snow White to be more “plumped”. Shes rather too skinny and has a resemblance to Belle!

  10. Ana Clara Says:

    Your work is really beautiful! It’s amazing, you are very very talented :)
    I will add your website on my favorite list for sure!!
    Great job!

  11. Alli Says:

    Beautiful!

  12. chloe garcia Says:

    your work would have made Walt Disney himself proud! This really is amazing work. Remember to take your time and surprise us and continue in school :) as excited as we are and ya…no need to repeat myself haha. Amazing work.

  13. kennetht Says:

    keep do More~~~~Jirka~>.<

  14. Rachelle Says:

    She is so delicate and pretty! I didn’t picture her this way before, but now that I see it, she is perfect.

  15. ZelC Says:

    Its awesome!!! Great work! please do cinderella… >< YOU ARE AN AMAZING ARTIST!

  16. Sarah Says:

    Where are the princes? Love your drawings and I’d love to see some real life Disney princes. How about Prince Navine or human/animal versions of the Beast?

  17. Celio Souza Says:

    It’s simply beautiful!! My favorite is Ariel and Mulan!! And all others ones too!! Keep walking Jirka! Your work it’s fantastic!!

  18. Jessica Lindamood Says:

    Heart-warming, courageous. . . . I love her rosiness Just like in the movie. Exquisite.

  19. Lexi Says:

    She looks beautiful!! I’m so glad you captured her so well ^^

  20. Rachelle Says:

    I would be curious to see what the wicked queen looks like ;)

  21. Amel Anniza Says:

    i agree that snow white looks a bit plump, especially for her cheeks, and perhaps her eyes look bigger? but she looks so rosy and charming here! love it! <3

    and yes, i wanna see rapunzel, too. not cinderella cause she is so over-popular… or maybe alice?

    is it true that you took the sources from a combination of real people's portraits?

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Thanks! And yes, that’s true!

    • jo Says:

      Cinderella is OVERPOPULAR??? You’re obviously not from America or anyone near here, everyone HATES Cinderella, Snow, and Aurora. Rapunzel, Belle, Ariel, Esmeralda, and Jasmine as the overpopular ones.

      • cady Says:

        …. well you’re obviously not from America either if you’re surrounded by people who hate Cinderella, Snow White and Aurora… Your comment is just bizarre. Now if you’d said everyone hates Princess Eilonwy I might have to agree with you. I love her personally, but the rest of the US seems to have forgotten that she even exists. It’s so sad!

  22. Sash Says:

    I’ve never considered Snow White to be a pretty Princess but you did her justice. Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  23. Heather Says:

    She is perfect. Please please lets see Cinderella and Rapunzel soon! Thank you for sharing your talent!

  24. Taynah Lima Says:

    Loved your work. You’ve just found yourself a new brazilian fan.

  25. isabella Says:

    oh my god… if snow white was a real person she would be drop dead gorgeous!

  26. Giannina Vitola Says:

    yesss!! u did it! thank u ! i mean after i long day at work its really nice to see this :) i really like it ….

  27. MORGL662 Says:

    WOW how do you do that?! your works are amazing!!!!
    are you using photoshop for doing them?

  28. Bárbara Says:

    This Snow White is very beautifull!!! Congratulations for your work. I’ll be waiting for the next princess!!!

  29. Maria Says:

    Very, very sweet! You keep my expectations up!

  30. ves Says:

    Right know I begin to understand why the people considerated this princess beautiful

    (I see your work first in the notices of Yahoo! argentina and I was instantly interest…I’m a first-year student of graphic design and also I’m studying finland…when I read your name I was just like MUST BE FINN!)

    OK that’s all.
    Great work by the way… like your photos to
    bye

  31. Glo Says:

    Thank you!!! Snow white was always my favorite princess… and here she´s beautiful…thanks for your beautiful work and to capture all her beauty and innocence ;)

  32. Dena Says:

    Beautiful work! Hope you do Anastasia from Disney – even though she isn’t considered a “Disney princess!”

  33. hahdoahdfhasdfawedf Says:

    CAN YOU DO THE DISNEY PRINCES AS WELL LIKE THE BOYS SUCH AS ALADDIN AND FLYNN RIDER FROM TANGLED???????????? xoxox PS YOU ROCK and also do rapunzel


  34. I was wondering if you took pictures of real women that you think looks like the characters and somehow work them into the picture or use them as a reference? Or is it completely your imagination? :)

    • jirkavinse Says:

      I find pictures of real women that have something that remind me of the character, and use elements from those pictures to come up with my vision of the characters. So it’s a mix of things really.

      • jo Says:

        that’s very interesting. whose pictures did you use for each? You probably used the actual inspirations Disney used (Anika Noni Rose for Tiana, Celine Dion for Jasmine, Barbara Stanwyck for Meg, etc.) right?

      • jirkavinse Says:

        A lot of different people for each. I’m not familiar with the inspiration behind the original characters, so I think Tiana might be the only one where I used the original inspiration to some extent.

      • Chellips Says:

        Who did you use as a guide for Snow White?

      • jirkavinse Says:

        At first I was inspired by Darla Baker, but then just got carried away and I was not heavily influenced by anyone in particular for this one :)

  35. Anya Says:

    LOVE this! Alice in Wonderland and Anastasia from Disney request! Those would be awesome!


  36. this is beautiful she looks like a girl from the 50s but in a good way lol!!

    PLEASE DO KIDA FROM ATLANTIS NEXT!!

  37. Subat Bashir Says:

    I see a strong resemblance to Rachel Hurd-wood.

  38. Elouie Says:

    oh my gosh, your artwork is simply STUNNING!!! wonder if you could do TinkerBell? :)

  39. megcasson Says:

    She is so perfect! I think this one is my favourite!

    http://kindoflovely.com

  40. Pandora Says:

    Are you going to do the Princes next? Please do them next! There are amazing! You’re really talented!

  41. Sarah Says:

    You’re amazing! My friends and I are addicted to your work. You capture the each princess’s personality so well!

  42. denise Says:

    this is by far one of my favorites that you’ve done!!! plz keep making more I cant wait to see what you come up with next!

  43. Star Says:

    Oh Rapunzel next please!
    These are just beyond amazing!

  44. khang Says:

    Your blog is already bookmarked on my computer! can you please make a version of Cinderella, her prince charming (i don’t know his name. haha) & prince Erik from the little mermaid? I’ve been wondering what would they look like if they were in real life since i was a kid, & you making a version of it would make half of my dreams come true. Yay. :) please? I’ll wait for it. Thank you so much!

  45. khang Says:

    Also, I just want to ask if I can share these Disney princesses photos on my tumblr account? I’ll just link it here if that’s alright with you. Thanks! :)

  46. Margaux Says:

    Hi, :)

    Found out about your work through My Modern Met and shared it through my Tumblr, linking you of course.. the response has been overwhelming. :) You’re really a great artist!:)

  47. M Says:

    WOW this is awesome & the rest of your photo manipulation work is amazing as well…..Thank you SOO much for sharing this with us all!!

  48. Juan Jose Says:

    If there was ever a human version Of snow white anne Hathaway would be perfect for it. Your work is truly amazing. All of it.

  49. Paivi Says:

    And she slept in 100 years … ? :)

    Relaxing Weekend! <3

  50. dreamynaria Says:

    wow!! Snow White has always been my favorite princess ever since I was little, and its identical copy!
    I hope you have idea of ​​Rapunzel

  51. TheBlackTwig Says:

    Hi Jirka, I just love your work. How about Rapunzel? Well, just a suggestion :) Keep up the good work!

  52. mschristiner Says:

    This is stunning! Snow white is my favourite Disney princess and you make her look so lovely and lifelike in this picture. Keep up the good work. Do you have a picture of Mulan?

  53. alex Says:

    Looks like Mia from two and a half men. Great work!

  54. Angela Says:

    Your work is absolutely phenomenal. I love checking back here from time to time to see if you’ve added anything new. I mean, this concept is freakin’ brilliant lol. It’s kind of like a “Why didn’t I think of that?” thing. I’m super nostalgic so these pictures definitely bring me back to my childhood when there was constantly a Disney movie in my VCR :) I do have a question for ya – did you use Judy Garland in this picture at all?

    Thanks a lot and keep ‘em coming! :)

  55. Terry Says:

    This is the most beautiful thing i’ve ever seen, ever, really, omg.

  56. Keisha Says:

    Who did you use to make her? Who is she?? She’s so beautiful

  57. mskrisp Says:

    She looks like Leighton Meester!

    • Nathalie Says:

      I second that, lol. I’ve never seen Leighton with hair like this–but I imagine she’d like a little something like this if her hair was short, black and curly.

  58. Lorenzo Says:

    She looks kinda like Emmy Rossum.

  59. Claire Says:

    Looks like Alicia Witt … if she had short black hair

  60. John Says:

    This is absolutely beautiful! This and Belle are my favs… I’d love to get prints of these!!!

  61. MWH1980 Says:

    Artistically, Snow White has always been the hardest (probably with the exception of Princess Aurora) for artists to interpret.

    You did a nice job, though her appearance makes her look a bit more mature than the appearance in the film. Then again, the animators gave her a more ‘babydoll’ like face.


  62. You are a magician!! These are extraordinary ^_^

  63. William Ocier Says:

    SEE??? THIS SNOW WHITE LOOKS LIKE ANNE HATHAWAY!!! NOT KRISTEN STEWART!! THE DIRECTORS MADE A HUGE MISTAKE WITH THE MOVIE!!!:((

  64. Bader Says:

    beautiful! She reminds me of Emmy Rossum just a bit


  65. What you do is great! Thank you for your art!

  66. Matt Says:

    ^what he said

  67. Tiffy Says:

    She looks like the actress in this old TV series ‘Charmed’.


  68. I did rather envision her differently than your take on her, but yours offers an interesting perspective and the more I look at her the more I can see your points of how she would look like this =). Great job again!

  69. Toni Says:

    Snow White is my all time favorite. It’s almost creepy how she looks so much like myself, but so different. They are all so wonderful! I love this! Thank you for sharing your talent. You are an amazing artist. This is amazing!

  70. Melissa Says:

    I am absolutely in love. Snow White is my favorite princess and you captured her perfectly.

  71. NekoNoe Says:

    Beautiful! your picture are beautiful, I hope you do not mind to take a photo to my profile. I put the link to see my friends your designs, thank you very much and congratulations!

  72. Kimbwy Says:

    It reminds me of Rachel McAdams around the mouth.. LOL

  73. JesLynne89 Says:

    Beautiful! You’re work is absolutely incredible! I wish I could buy prints somewhere because I would completely deck out my entire house in these. This one and Belle are my favorites, but just for a laugh I have to suggest you try my favorite Disney character. Lady from Lady and the Tramp hahaha;)


  74. wow….
    It’s a beatuful girl…
    I Like Its

  75. A Passing Rider Says:

    Love your work, sir! I see you chose to draw Snow White in her original ‘scullery maid’ gown, not her more famous costume. Good decision. As MWH1980 says, Snow White is the most difficult of all Disney’s princesses to capture artistically and I must say that you have really done an excellent interpretation – you have really highlighted the innocence and optimism that are so integral to her character! Just for trivia, I thought you might like to know that the original animators (Grim Natwick and Ham Luske) incorporated a great deal of their live-action model – a 14-year old dancer who grew up to become Marge Champion and who incidentally is now the only surviving member of the original movie’s cast and crew.

  76. Alina Says:

    Omg your work is amazing! How did u get so good? Do you think its possible for you to do a portrait of my friend for her 18th birthday? I’ll pay of course :)

  77. Virpi Says:

    Beautiful! But SnowWhite have blue eyes… not brown!

  78. callecat Says:

    superb skills! I enjoyed your redntition of the fairytale’s characters :)

  79. Erika Keene Says:

    You are so spot on with these!!! I love them all! xD

  80. Rachael Laughton Says:

    This painting is beautiful. A great aduptation of a disney classic. Amazing. :)


  81. Pakko oli tulla katsastamaan tämä blogisi. Todella hienoja töitä, joista tämä Lumikki on oma suosikkini. :)

  82. Alina Says:

    Congratulations! Your talent is remarkable:)
    I was just wondering- are these paintings based on real girl figures or just your imagination?
    Thanks!

    • jirkavinse Says:

      Thank you! These are mainly based on my imagination, but what I do, is that I somewhat reference real life women, and combine various features to bring my vision to life. So in the end, it kinda is a mix of the two :)

  83. Suiren Says:

    Amazing, she has a great 20s feeling to her, which really suites her.

  84. Denise Says:

    She’s gorgeous. I love your work. I never thought Snow White would remind me of Michelle Williams, but in this picture somehow she does.

  85. Rose Says:

    Wow, this one is my favourite! She reminds me of Laura Frases (plays Cat on Lip Service), especially when she was younger.

    Congratulations on your amazing artwork. I think you are extremely talented.
    Grts from Spain

  86. Mariana Says:

    your work is really amazing! Snow White is perfect, her eyes look so innocent – just like the fairytale! Congratulations from a Disney-and-art-fan in Brazil! ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,562 other followers

